top of page

Diné Pride leaders selected to coordinate largest Indigenous LGBTQ+ Celebration

The Navajo Nation gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer and two-spirit community will host the largest Indigenous Pride in the country in June 2020 for its fourth year.

A new slate of LGBTQ+ leaders and allies were selected this week as Board of Directors to coordinate this historic event. They include a former LGBTQ+ title holder, a nationally-renowned human rights leader, a small business owner, a respected Two-Spirit youth leader, professionals in the social work field, a marketing executive, and several members who proudly served in the Marine Corps, Navy, Army, and Air Force.

Diné Pride is only getting bigger and better each year. I am honored to be joining a team that makes this historic celebration possible as a leader in this movement.
- DeAndra Wagner, Communications Director

Diné Equality founder, Alray Nelson, was selected as the new executive director. He previously served as Chief Operating Officer and is one of the founders of Diné Pride. He was named a Top 40 Native American Leader Under 40 by the National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development and will provide the overall direction for the organization.

Our Pride leaders come from diverse backgrounds and bring years of experience in organizing and advocacy. They are focused on planning another historic year with several community-focused events that will affirm the sacredness of our LGBTQ+ identities. I am honored to join this team of phenomenal advocates who care deeply about our young people, the elders, and our Sovereign Nation.
- Alray Nelson, Executive Director

Several community-focused LGBTQ+ events are planned this year going into 2020. Diné Pride will honor our LGBTQ+ Youth who are the movement leaders & change makers for our Sovereign Nations. We acknowledge the work our young people in Indian Country are doing to reclaim and protect the sacred knowledge about our LGBTQ+ history for the next generation.


Diné Pride 2020 Board of Directors:

  • Alray Nelson, Executive Director

  • DeAndra Wagner | Communications Director

  • Curtis Berry | Operations Director

  • Brennen Yonnie | Finance Director 

  • Raymona Uentillie | Logistics Director

  • Thomas Martinez | Entertainment Director

  • Rapheal Begay | Art Director

  • Mariah Lizer | Veterans Director

  • Danny Atcitty | Sales Director

  • Tyson King | Membership Director

  • Francis Geronimo Louie | Youth Director  

  • Steven Nez | Administrative Director  

  • Trish Arviso | Board of Director

  • Jacoby Antone | Board of Director

196 views0 comments


bottom of page